This is my first time using pointers and I'm having some trouble. So far I have declared a struct named Student which is meant to hold the data for each student. There is an input file with an unknown amount of entries. Each entry has a first and last name along with 7 scores.

I am trying to read in the data from the text file at this point. Then I will need to sort the data (selection sort) in alphabetical order by the students last names. And lastly output the data to a new text file.

Below I'll provide what I've done so far. Really I'm just trying to get a better insight as to how I should be approaching this problem. I can figure out the sorting and output later.

A sample entry from the input file:

ANTHONY CLARK  83  85  84  85  82  85  78
#include <fstream>
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

struct Student
{
    char First[30];
    char Last[30];
    float Score1, Score2, Score3, Score4, Score5, Score6, Score7;

};

int main()
{
    ifstream infile;
    ofstream outfile;
    int size=5;
    infile.open("input.txt");

struct Student * data;
    data = new struct Student[size];

for (int i = 0; i < size; i++ )
    {
        infile.getline(data[i].First,30);

}

infile.close();
    outfile.open("output.txt");
    outfile.close();

delete [] data;

return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Do not use getline here. The first name can be UP TO 30 characters, but will usually be less than that. Your getline stores other fields in the first name. This input file is separated by spaces and newlines, so it is tailor made for the >> operator instead of getline. I see no need to read in the data using getline.

{
        infile >> data[i].First >> data[i].Last >> data[i].Score1 >> /* same for the rest */
    }