Hey Everyone... Not quite sure how it works on these forums as this is my first post, but I am looking to separate elements of lines printed to a text file in real-time for a log parser.

An example of the text output is:
[CHAT WINDOW TEXT] [Sun Nov 29 11:34:38] Guardian of Water killed Kyton's Rebuke [BH]

I would like to separate the two names (Guardian of Water and Kyton's Rebuke [BH]) and use the word killed as a keyword in an if...else... statement. Keep in mind however that the names can be extremely long or extremely short - there is no limit to the number of words in a name.

Also, for a line such as:
[CHAT WINDOW TEXT] [Sun Nov 29 11:34:10] Attack Of Opportunity : Soul Devourer attacks Kyton's Rebuke [BH] : *miss* : (13 + 113 = 126)
I would like to parse out the names (Soul Devourer and Kyton's Rebuke[BH]), the miss, and the 113.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated, as i am a relatively new java programmer.

TJ

Recommended Answers

All 20 Replies

Thanks for the response masijade. I am still confused however how i would format a regex for a line like this:
[CHAT WINDOW TEXT] [Sun Nov 29 11:34:10] Attack Of Opportunity : Soul Devourer attacks Kyton's Rebuke [BH] : *miss* : (13 + 113 = 126)
I this line i would need the Attack of Opportunity, both names, the miss, and the 113 recorded somewhere. i can probably use colons to separate some pieces, but i am not sure as to how i can separate the 113 by looking for the + and = signs in that expression. and sometimes there will be more than one of those expressions on the end of the line, but the second is nothing to worry about. I have come up with a list of strings that i need to check for, and could be used to help separate names and other changing parts of the expression.

// REGEX TERMS

public static final String MISS = ": *miss* :";
    public static final String ATTACKS = " attacks ";
    public static final String AOO = "Attack Of Opportunity :";
    public static final String HIT = "*hit*";