Hello

I now have a working script that displays a .htm file when a user logs on to their computer. (thanks to alot of help from a member at this site!!). My next issue is that because a lot of my users are using CITRIX for work, then they are getting this .hmt file appear when they open a new appliction (as this runs the logon script again!!). Is there a way of saying the following in code

If computer_name = Server1 or Server2 then

exit

else

Run rest of script??

As you have probably guessed i am not very good at coding but i have been working hard with this and can see the light at the end of the tunnel

Thanks to anyone who can help

Regards

Gareth

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

;) Me again!

Dim objNetwork
Set objNetwork = Wscript.CreateObject("Wscript.Network")
computerName = objNetwork.ComputerName

Will Return the computer name in question. Then you have pretty much already answered your own question with your psuedo-code above. (By The Way, You can put your code in the little boxes like the one above by putting them in code tags (without the spaces) [ CODE ] code here [ /CODE ]). Of Course, WScript.Quit might be better than exit!!!

I don't know how you plan to keep track of what people have logged in, so you know how is logged in and who isn't. I would suggest maybe a temporary file, that holds a list of computer names of people who have logged in (if the script runs on the server), or a file that notifies the script whenever they are logged in. Then, when they log out, just remove the file (or if on a server, the computer name from the file).
Good Luck!

OK

This is what i have so far

on error resume next

Dim objNetwork

If objNetwork.Computername = "SERVER_NAME" then

WScript.Quit

else

dim oIE
Set oIE = WScript.CreateObject("InternetExplorer.Application")

TheDay = WeekdayName(Weekday(Date))

if Theday = "Friday" then
	oIE.Navigate "file://FILENAME"
	oIE.Visible = True
else

end if
set oIE = Nothing

WScript.Quit

public function ReturnDay