Hi,

I am a newbie to C++ (and programming in general)

I have the following:

char* fOutMsg;
strcpy(fOutMsg, "03DS2");

--------------------------------------------------------------
in another place:

char	fPpn[32]	= {0};
strcpy(fPpn, "                   ");

-------------------------------------------------------------------
in another location:

char   fStr;
struct* ioEx;
strcpy(fStr, W2A(ioEx->authcode));

---------------------------------------------------------------------
more:

char*  iProdType;
strcpy((char*) fDef.prodtype,  iProdType);

------------------------------------------------------------------------
and:

strcpy(fI8_GPID, "%");

So as you can see, I have different parameters for strcpy in different places in the code, I was wondering how to substitute strcpy with strncpy.

How does it work? could you please provide me real examples based on my above data? As I said, I am new to C++ and I don't know how to terminate the buffer with null or not so please be patient with me

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

to look at an online version of the difference between strcpy() and strncpy() go to cppreference.com and look at Standard C string and Char section.

Without further clarification I would expect your first and third versions to fail given that char * needs to have memory assigned to it before it can act as a string and char by itself can never be a string.

Hi,

I am a newbie to C++ (and programming in general)

Since you are new, and have a fresh, open mind, I would recommend that you start using the Standard Template Library now. This library is powerful, helpful, and relatively easy to learn, and it works in all c++ compilers. If you are using a C compiler, you're out of luck.

Anyway, the STL provides a string object that is so much nicer than c character arrays. Here's how you could apply strings to a couple of your examples

using namespace std;
string fOutMsg = "03DS2";