Hello Daniweb, I'm new to C and I need help with this basic calculator. It's supposed to calculate investment, only it never gives me the correct result Here is the source,

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <windows.h>
#include <math.h>

int main()
{
double result;
int a;
int b;
int c;

printf("Enter the amount of money to be invested:");
scanf("%d",  &a);
getchar();
printf("Enter the percentage");
scanf("%d",  &b);
getchar();
printf("Enter the period of investment (years)");
scanf("%d",  &c);
getchar();
result = a * pow (2.71828183, b * c);
printf("You will end up with %f", result);

return 0;

}

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

Sorry for the double post but I wasn't allowed to edit my original.

Anyways here's my edited source.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <iostream>
#include <windows.h>
#include <math.h>

int main()
{
	float result;
	int money;
	float percent;
	float year;
	float e = 2.71828183;

printf("Enter the amount of money:");
	scanf("%d", &money);
	getchar();

printf("Enter percentage:");
	scanf("%d", &percent);
	getchar();

printf("Enter years:");
	scanf("%d", &year);
	getchar();

result = money * pow (e, percent * year);
	printf("%f", result);

Sleep(4000);
	return 0;
}

What's with all the getchar() lines?

What are the values just before the calculation? Print the values.

The getchar()'s are there to pull newlines off the keyboard buffer. In this case, since the program is scanf()'ing for numbers, the getchar()'s are not needed.

Scanf() will jump over a newline, if it is looking for a number.

Money should not be an integer, when the user enters it. It should be a float or double. Then, you can multiply money times 100 to deal with it as an integer, as all pennies. Sounds odd, but it works *really* well.

If percentage is a float, it should not be scanf()'d in with a %d - you know that's haywire! Same mistake with year variable. :(