Okay, so I am EXTREMELY new to programming and my teacher is not exactly a great one, sadly.

I am attempting to sort a string alphabetically.
For example:

Prompt to enter name:
Alex
Joe
John
Bill
Cait

Then sort and print:
Alex
Bill
Cait
Joe
John

Here's what I have so far:

int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
{
	int num_child; // Number of children in the class
	string name[100];

cout << "Please tell us how many children are in your class:" << endl;
	cin >> num_child;

for(int i = 0; i < num_child; i++)
	{
		cout << "Child #: " << i+1 << "'s name is?" << endl;
		cin >> name[i];
	}

for(int j = 0; j < num_child; j++)
	{	
		strcmp(name[j].c_str(), name[j+1].c_str());
		if(name[j] > name[j+1])
		{
			name[j] = name[j+1]
		}

}

cout << "The students in your class are" << endl;

for(int k = 0; k < num_child; k++)
	{
		cout << name[k] << endl;
	}

I've entered:
Alex
Jill
Jake

and the current outcome is:

"The students in your class are:"
Alex
Jake

... can anyone point me in the right direction?

EDIT: Yes, this is for a class, so please don't just give me the code for it. I want to understand how to actually do it.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

google for sort algorithms, there are several of them but the one you posted is not one of them. The easiest to code is the bubble sort.

google for sort algorithms, there are several of them but the one you posted is not one of them. The easiest to code is the bubble sort.

I've seen those, the only problem is I don't truly understand them so I don't know what is going on. Like I said, new to C++, maybe 3 months under my belt? I can simply rip an algorithm from somewhere and add my "filler" but then I have no clue what it actually does... ya know?