Background:

I'm extracting values from a file which is sometimes an xls and sometimes an xlsx file. An xls is easily read with xlrd, but xlrd nor any other Python library (as far as I could find) supports xlsx, so instead I'm using xlsx2csv to convert to csv and then reading values from that.

I'm new to Python and only have beginner's knowledge of other scripting languages.

Problem:

I'd like to select values from a specific column of the csv file (and fill a list with them). This is where I'm getting confused. When I convert the CSV with

infile = path + "\\" + filename
xlsx2csv(infile, open("data.csv", "w+"))

and open it manually in Excel, I can see the values I want in column 5 at row 23 and onwards (with columns up to 5 and rows up to 23 containing values I do not want).

But when I open the csv file within Python with

values = csv.reader(open('data.csv', 'rb'), delimiter=' ')

I'm getting a list of lists. Printing the values with

for row in values:
    print row

gives the following (edited) result:

I feel like I've already gone wrong at this point. Or should I go with this and then split up the lists and get the last value from each separate list except the empty ones? I hope someone can help me to an elegant solution.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Could you post beginning of the original csv file or attach it from advanced view, manage attachments? I would guess that delimeter is ','

Could you post beginning of the original csv file or attach it from advanced view, manage attachments? I would guess that delimeter is ','

Thank you! I've changed the delimiter to ',' and the values now stay intact. I've also flagellated myself for such a silly oversight (I now realise that the words in sentences were getting broken up because they were separated by spaces and I used a space as a delimiter), but this doesn't seem to have made me any smarter so far.

Let me try and select the values again and report back with how I failed or succeeded.