Hi all, i'm new to Templates and when i tried to implement templates methods which needs to use a map (which is a member in private), the map can only do 3 things: insert, swap, and operator =. and i don't get the full functionality of map..

Here's the code:

#ifndef __GARAGE_H_
#define __GARAGE_H_
#include <map>
using namespace std;
template <class T,class SortKey, class SearchKey>
class GarageDataBase
{
public :

GarageDataBase();
	virtual ~GarageDataBase();	
    const T& Top() const;
	bool Add(T data,SortKey key2, SearchKey key2);
	T Remove(SearchKey toRemove);
	T Find(SearchKey toFind) const;
	bool isEmpty()const;

private:
	multimap<SortKey,T> firstMap;
	multimap<SearchKey,pair<SortKey,T>*> secondMap;

};
#endif

template <class T,class SortKey, class SearchKey> GarageDataBase<T,SortKey,SearchKey>::GarageDataBase()
{

}

template <class T,class SortKey, class SearchKey> GarageDataBase<T,SortKey,SearchKey>::~GarageDataBase()
{
}

template <class T,class SortKey, class SearchKey> const T& GarageDataBase<T,SortKey,SearchKey>::Top() const
{
	firstMap.
}

in the last func when trying to get into firstMap mathods, all i get is: insert, swap or, =...

how do i get to "first" or s"econd" in the map?

Thank you and sorry i'm just a beginner here

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Try using iterators.

template <class T,class SortKey, class SearchKey> const T& GarageDataBase<T,SortKey,SearchKey>::Top() const
{
	mulimap<SortKey,T>::iterator it;
	it=firstMap.
}

still doesn't let me to firstMap.begin()

i want to return the first element in the map

What do you mean "doesn't let me"? What happens if you change line 5 above to say

it=firstMap.begin();

?

it doesn't complete me with Intellisense code completion..

Maybe its the completion system problem?