Hi, I'm a newbie to programming in general and I'm really struggling with working out how on earth to do this!

I am aware of how to open the stream and read the text file using fscanf, however I want to store the text in that file into a string and I'm not sure how to configure the fscanf to do this.

So far I have:

{

FILE *file_in;

char text;

file_in=fopen("text.txt", "r");

fscanf(file_in, "...?"..... - this is the bit where I'm stuck for what to put?

fclose(file_in)

return 0;

}

I know this probably sounds really silly, but I can't quite figure out what the fscanf is actually doing, and how best to store the data.

Would it be best to store the data into an array? And how would I go about that?

This is part of a bigger program which I'm trying to write, which will then ask me to encrypt this text using a Caesar cipher. I'm thinking a string would be easier than an array?

Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Member Avatar for Nirvin M

You need a clear understanding of C-stlye string. A string in C is represented as character array terminated by NULL '\0' character.

fscanf(...) statement reads first string from the file until a space or newline is encountered. It works similar to scanf(...).

scanf() - reads data from keyboard.
fscanf() - reads data from file stream.

Ah ok, so if the text file is more than one line, it will read the first, store it, move to the next and then erase the old one, won't it? So I will only get the last line stored in the string. I sort of understand it :P

Would it be better to put a loop in then? So that it will store the whole file until it reaches the EOF? I'm just not sure how to go about it :S

Dear friend, I think this may help you...

char text[100][50]; // assuming you have 100 words in the file each of max length 50
FILE *fp=fopen("filename.txt", "r");
for(int i=0; ferror(fp) == 0; i++)
fscanf(fp, "%s", text);

// now do something with text[][]

Dear friend, I think this may help you...