Our teacher gave us an assignment.Can anyone help or give me some idea on how to solve this java problem? im still learning java. Here's the problem:

"Write some code to demonstrate to yourself the chain of construction. Create an inheritance hierarchy of 4 classes. Give them any names you like. They don't have to have any data or methods, but each one should have a no-args constructor. These constructors should print out a line identifying the current class (something like "This line belongs to Construction 1 "). Your main() method should construct a single instance of your lowest-level subclass. What is the output and explain your work during our laboratory time? Does it matter which class contains the main() method?"

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

you need to type extends [name here] and then you can retrieve information between the 2 and if you need any more help post what you have so far.

public class Class1{

}
public class Class2 extends Class1{ //class 2 is a subclass of class1

}

That is the basic syntax for inheritance in java.

For this assignment your constructors aren't actually constructing a class, they're demonstrating the order in which constructors are called, and how the code executes.
So there isn't really a problem to solve: you're just going to write four dummy classes, each of which extends the previous one and has a no-argument constructor which simply prints out a line identifying itself, then you're going to write a main method which makes a new instance of the last one.

Your real task is to understand what happens when you do this, and why it happens this way, and nobody here can do that for you.

For this assignment your constructors aren't actually constructing a class, they're demonstrating the order in which constructors are called, and how the code executes.