I am a novice programmer and need help.....
#include <stdio.h>
int main (void)
}
    int n1=2;
    int n2=0;
    n2= (++n1) + (++n1);
    printf("Result= %d",n2);
    return 0;
}
Result= 8      How is this possible??

Similarly, 
#include <stdio.h>
int main (void)
}
    int n1=2;
    int n2=0;
    n2= (++n1) + (++n1) + (++n1);
    printf"Result= %d",n2);
    return 0;
}

Result= 13              How is it possible??

All the results does not match up with my understanding of C. Please, I need help.
Thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 31 Replies

All the results does not match up with my understanding of C.

This is because you haven't yet learned the sequence point rule concerning modifications. The rule states that an object may be modified at most one time between sequence points, otherwise the result is undefined behavior. The + operator does not act as a sequence point, and ++ modifies the object.

So, in your first example you're modifying n1 twice between sequence points, and in your second example n1 is being modified thrice. Undefined behavior means that a compiler can do pretty much anything, so don't count on any kind of predictable result even on the same compiler. Technically, you could run this program twice and get different results.

@narue..I am also a C beginner...
I have ran this program on my compiler DEV C++.
I also get same result=8
I have compiled many times...and It shows same output...
So there is specific thing is going wrong...
Can you explain more about "sequence point rule"...or give some good reference?

I have ran this program on my compiler DEV C++.
I also get same result=8
I have compiled many times...and It shows same output...