Hello! I'm studying right now as an exchange student in Germany and taking my first programming course in Java, and in the last week, things have just started to go over my head and I'm kind of drowning while trying to get all the homework done!

The assignment was supposed to write a code to convert roman numerals into arabic ones - here's what I have written so far:

static int roman2Decimal(String number)
	{

int[]    numbers = { 1000,  900,  500,  400,  100,   90,  
                                             50,   40,   10,    9,    5,    4,    1 };  //it's much easier to program in the values for IV, IX, etc
        String[] letters = { "M",  "CM",  "D",  "CD", "C",  "XC",				
                                           "L",  "XL",  "X",  "IX", "V",  "IV", "I" };	//than to use a bunch of 'if's and things to check if a 																					//	letter with a lower value is in front of one with a higher one.    
        final int num;
		System.out.println("Please enter a roman numeral using the letters M, D, C, L, X, V, I. All letters will be treated as capitalized.");
		System.out.println("Please do not enter a roman numeral with a value greater than 3999."); //3999 is the highest value since we're only
		Scanner roman = new Scanner(System.in);							//using the roman numerals up to M, and you can't have 4 in a row.
		roman = roman.toUpperCase();
		roman = roman.trim();
		if (roman.length()=0)
		{
			System.out.println("Please enter an actual number using the above mentioned roman numerals, not just empty spaces.");
			roman = input.nextString();
		}

int i = 0; //this will be our position in the string of the roman numerals.
		int decimal = 0; //this is the decimal value of the roman numerals converted up until this point.

while (i<roman.length())
		{
			char letter = roman.CharAt(i); //the letter at the position i in the string roman
			int number = letterToNumber(letter); //The number that the letters represent - will be found later in the program.