I just started learning Java and I have been playing around with it. I am trying to make this program return a double value like 1000/3 = 333.33333..... but it returns 333.000 what am I doing wrong in Java. It works in C though :P. Thanks in Advance!

//Exercise : 4.17
//Program that inputs miles driven and gallons of gas
//Program calcualates and displays: miles per gallon and print out sum of miles per gallon/no of trips
//ie. Will use float for all average results
//miles and gallons should be in integers

import java.util.Scanner;//Program will use Scanner class

public class Mileage
{

//Main method that executes the java program
    public static void main ( String[] args )
    {
        //Declaring variables to be used in program
        int miles = 0;
        int gallons = 0;
        double miles_per_gallon = 0;
        double miles_per_gallon_trips = 0;
        int sum_miles = 0;
        int sum_gallons = 0;

//Creating a Scanner object to get input in command window
        Scanner input = new Scanner ( System.in );

while (miles != -1 )
        {
           //Promping User to get input
           System.out.print("\nEnter the number of miles (-1 to exit): ");
           miles = input.nextInt();

if ( miles != -1){
            sum_miles += miles;//Summing up miles to be used to calculate total average
           //Prompt User to enter the number of gallons 
           System.out.print("\nEnter the number of gallons of gas used: ");
           gallons = input.nextInt();
           sum_gallons += gallons;//Summing up gallons to use to calculate total average

miles_per_gallon = miles / gallons;//Calculate the avarage of miles per gallon

System.out.printf("\nMiles per gallon: %f\n",miles_per_gallon); //Print out the 
       }

else
            miles = -1;

}

if ( miles_per_gallon > 0.0){
            miles_per_gallon_trips = (sum_miles / sum_gallons);
       System.out.printf("Total miles Per Gallon is %f\n",miles_per_gallon_trips);}

}//end main method