Hi Dw

Is there a way to disable/enable a selected NIC adapter using vb.net?
Thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Hi

You can use Windows Management Instrumentation to do this. I'm not an expert in this area but I did find a very nice tool called WMI Code Creator that allows you to browse the WMI classes for both information and methods and then depending on what you want to do will also generate the code for you using VBScript, VB.NET or C#.

So for your example, I selected "Execute a Method" tab and in the drop down labelled "Classes with methods" I selected "Win32_NetworkAdapter". This then provides a list of all network interfaces on my machine and in the methods there was the option for Enabling and Disabling. I had to go through the list of network interfaces to find the right one but it did work (mine was ID 7) and Disabled/Enabled the device right from the tool.

You can probably use a mixture of techniques from the first tab "Query for data from a WMI class" to find the Network ID and then the method above.

The following was the code generated to disable the network card:

using System;
using System.Management;
using System.Windows.Forms;

namespace WMISample
{
    public class CallWMIMethod
    {
        public static void Main()
        {
            try
            {
                ManagementObject classInstance = 
                    new ManagementObject("root\\CIMV2", 
                    "Win32_NetworkAdapter.DeviceID='7'",
                    null);

// no method in-parameters to define

// Execute the method and obtain the return values.
                ManagementBaseObject outParams = 
                    classInstance.InvokeMethod("Disable", null, null);

// List outParams
                Console.WriteLine("Out parameters:");
                Console.WriteLine("ReturnValue: " + outParams["ReturnValue"]);
            }
            catch(ManagementException err)
            {