Hello,
I am still pretty new to asp.net. I have a gridview bound to sql data and a footer that displays the summary info(totals of each column). The footer is populated in the Gridview.rowdatabound event. In my Gridview I am using template items with some columns consisting of textboxes to make the values editable for the users. What I would like to know is it possible to call the grdivew.rowdatabound event for a second time when a textbox in the gridview is changed (at OnTextChanged)? This would allow the footer to repopulate based on the values in the updated textbox. I would like to avoid using the update button in the gridview if possible.

Thank you in adavnce,
steve

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Hello,
I am still pretty new to asp.net. I have a gridview bound to sql data and a footer that displays the summary info(totals of each column). The footer is populated in the Gridview.rowdatabound event. In my Gridview I am using template items with some columns consisting of textboxes to make the values editable for the users. What I would like to know is it possible to call the grdivew.rowdatabound event for a second time when a textbox in the gridview is changed (at OnTextChanged)? This would allow the footer to repopulate based on the values in the updated textbox. I would like to avoid using the update button in the gridview if possible.

Thank you in adavnce,
steve

Hi Steve

Have a look at the sample

aspx code

<asp:GridView ID="GridView1" runat="server" AutoGenerateColumns="False" ShowFooter="True">
                <Columns>
                    <asp:CommandField ShowDeleteButton="True" />
                    <asp:CommandField ShowEditButton ="True" />
                    <asp:BoundField DataField="ProductID" HeaderText="ProductID" />
                    <asp:BoundField DataField="ProductCode" HeaderText="ProductCode" />
                    <asp:BoundField DataField="ProductName" HeaderText="ProductName" />