Hi,

I've created a script to understand the logic of caching. Do you think my example below makes sense? I am asking because I've never used caching before.

1. Check if HTML version of current testfile.php exist in cache folder as testfile.html
a. If YES then compare content of testpage.php with testpage.html
i. If content is same then print from HTML. DONE!
ii.If not then print content of testpage.php and create testpage.html to be used in future. DONE!
b. If NO then print content of testpage.php and create testpage.html to be used in future

Note: I don't think this example is compatible with dynamicaly generated webpages. If I am correct then could you please help me to enhance this example?

Thanks

testpage.php

<?php
//**********************************************************************
//** CACHE CLASS *******************************************************
class CacheBase{
	public function createCacheFile($pageNameIN, $contentIN){
		// Create copy of php file and save as html in cache/ folder
		$newFile = fopen("cache/".$pageNameIN.".html", "w");
		fwrite($newFile, $contentIN);
		fclose($newFile);
	}

public function checkContentBased($pageNameIN, $contentIN){
		// Get the content of existing html file
		$existingContent = file_get_contents("cache/".$pageNameIN.".html");

// Return relevant values based on result.
		// True = Overwrite existing file with new content
		// $existingContent = Don't overwrite existing file just print
		if($contentIN == $existingContent){
			return $existingContent;
		} else {
			return true;
		}
	}
}
//** END ***************************************************************

// Start output buffering to catch all content from 
ob_start();

$body = "<html>\n";
$body.= "<head>\n";
$body.= "<title>Static caching</title>\n";
$body.= "</head>\n";
$body.= "<body>\n";
$body.= "<p>This testpage.php/html cache file generated automaticaly</p>\n";
$body.= "</body>\n";
$body.= "</html>\n";

echo $body;