Hello,

Hope this is the right place to post, I am a student and want to create an OS like DOS just for practice, I know functions, arrays, pinters, structures and file handling but dont know how to start writing an OS, please help me.

Regards.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

You can download source code for os like minix and play with it.

You can download source code for os like minix and play with it.

Thanks ithelp but I want to learn creating an OS, not to copy others code.

You learn by checking out how someone else coded theirs. Find a couple more
O/S's to look at and check for similarities and differences. Linux is also available as source.

Dear you are right but if some one just give me the basic code, I mean just the start and then I can learn from those source codes as well.

>>but if some one just give me the basic code, I mean just the start
Ok -- here goes

#include <stdio.h>

int main()
{
    // put your code here

return 0;
}

Before doing anything, learn to read English. That is an absolute must prerequisit. Apparently you have failed to do that because it seems you did not yet read any of the links or comments in any of the previous posts. Writing an operating system is not child's play or someting that a first or second year college IT student would be expected to tackle. Bill Gates didn't even do that -- he bought the original source code from someone at IBM.

Hope this is the right place to post

Well, maybe you actually have to turn to other forums and request for the basic OS starter code there.
By following Ancient Dragon's links above, you probably find relevant places sooner than later.

Not sure if it works but this is what I found

#include "bloader.h"

int main();

/*Global Variables BAD BAD:) */
unsigned int oldEBP;
struct boot_dir *viewableDirectory;
int totalMem;
char * passedParams;
/*end global vars */

void _start(int memSize, char *parms, struct boot_dir *loadedfiles)
{
	asm("mov %%ebp, %0":"=m"(oldEBP));