Hello,
I need to write a program that calculates how many days from year January 1, 0000 to any specified date including leap years. When I run the program that I have, I am off by a few days for any given date. Can someone please check out my code and see what I'm doing wrong. I am new to C++ so please cut me some slack if there are simple errors that I have missed. Just a side note...in "library.h" there are commands that are different that in just C++ (i.e. print command).

#include "library.h"
int const day_of_forever(int const year, int const month, int const day)
 {
     int count[]={0,31, 59, 90, 120, 151, 181, 212, 243, 273, 304, 334, 365};
     if ((year % 4==0) && (year % 100 != 0) && (year % 400 == 0 )&& (month>=2))  ((count[month]+day)+1);
     return (count[month-1]+day)+(((year)*365)+1) +((year)/4)-(year/100)+(year/400);
  }

void main()
{ 
    int const year=1776;
    int const day=7;
    int const month=4;
    int const something=day_of_forever(year,month,day);
    print (something);
}

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

How about a "partial" solution? Like how many days since the epoch, the year 1970 Jan 1, 7:00 a.m.?

You have to limit the scope of your inputs somehow...

I have a function that works for the years 2000-2099 using the leap year criterion of 4 years. I used part of that function's logic to create the one that is posted. According to the instructions, November 27, 2737 should be the millionth day from day January 1, 0000. This program's function returns a value of 1000020 for that date. Very frustrating:-/

(year % 100 != 0) && (year % 400 == 0 )

something wrong there... if (year % 100 != 0) then (year % 400 cannot be == 0 )

ps: I guess you know that the current (Gregorian) calendar is only valid from 1752?