Good Day All,

Not sure if I should post this request here or under the SQL Forum. I am studying JAVA and my code is for JAVA, but my query is regarding the SQL prepared statements to be used in my JAVA code.

I have a program called SingleUser.java. The object of this program is to request a user's id and then list all the stocks that this user has. I refer to a Database StockTracker to get the details.

I am not sure if I am using the prepared statements correctly. I am getting an error: "Cannot resolve symbol", which I know one gets when a parameter is missing or if there is a spelling mistake. But I cannot see any spelling errors, so I must be missing a parameter. I am just starting to learn about SQL and SQL commands, so, if anyone has some advise ... especially if anyone knows about a site to learn SQL where it is in easy to understand English and terminology.

I am attaching my code ... and just to give some explanation: "userID", "symbol" and "name" used in the prepared statements are the headings of the columns in my database.

I have created a String usrID to get the user to insert a userID on the command prompt screen.

Here is the code:

import java.io.*;
import java.sql.*;

public class SingleUser
{
	public static void main(String[] args)throws Exception
	{
		Class.forName("sun.jdbc.odbc.JdbcOdbcDriver");

String url = "jdbc:odbc:StockTracker";

Connection con = DriverManager.getConnection(url);
		PreparedStatement pStmt = con.createStatement("SELECT userID, symbol FROM UserStocks");
		PreparedStatement pStmt1 = con.createStatement("SELECT name FROM Stocks");

System.out.println("Stock holdings for User: " + pStmt);
		System.out.println("Stock - Description");
		System.out.println("-------------------------------------------");

BufferedReader dataIn = new BufferedReader(new InputStreamReader(System.in));

for(int i = 0; 1 > 0; i++)
		{
			System.out.print("Enter User ID: ");
			String usrID = dataIn.readline();

pStmt.setString(1, userID);