I have the strangest problem. First let me state that I am by no means an expert on either Web Applications or SQL. I have however, been delegated this project and have made some progress.

First, all the servers for a small office I work in were upgraded to 64 bit processors and everything was migrated up with no problems, except for the WEB server. I was able to figure this out without much problem and have the web server running on out 64 bit processor. Again, with one exception. There is a very small SQL database that was running on SQL 2000. I migrated the database up to SQL 2008 with minimum difficulty. However, now I cannot get the ASP script to connect to the SQL DB to add or retrieve data. I built an ODBC connection and I can connect perfectly well, but when my ASP tries to connect, I get the following errors:

Connection made using Windows authentication
Login Failed: Reason Failed to open explicitly specified Database.
Connection made using SQL authentication, Server configured for Windows Authentication only.

I have checked and double checked my configuration and I have it configured for MIXED mode, SQL and Windows Authentication.

I have tried the ODBS connection using both windows integrated and SQL server authentication and both connections work. it is the database itself that seems to have the problem. The database has a special user that is used to add or update records. I have tried making this user, a windows user as well as the SQL user but I still have the same problem.

I hope someone out there has a solution.

Thanks in advance
Annetta

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Did you check your SQL error log file on the server? This will give you an exact error code on which we can then respond. I have not worked on SQL 2008 for some time now, but I always used to us ethe following links, which gives quite a good description and error solving from the log file.