Hi.

I'm an experienced programmer, but one who has never used .NET technology before.

The college I recently started working for will be decommissioning some old servers during the Summer, and I'd like to make a start on moving the applications to their new home. I thought I would start with a simple one-page data extraction webpage that retrieves information from an SQL database.

I've copied the database from the old server to the new, and I've copied the directory structure across. The files involved are:

default.aspx
default.aspx.vb
masterpage.master
masterpage.master.vb
printme.css
web.config

admin/default.aspx
admin/default.aspx.vb
admin/web.config

app_code/classdiagram.cd
app_code/staff_details.vb
app_code/staff_manager.vb

There is also an empty app_data directory and an app_themes directory containing what looks like standard templates. Each of the directories also contains a _vti_cnf subdirectory, which I understand hold information about the creation and development of the code within that folder.

Within the root directory, there are subdirectories named _private (empty), _vti_pvt, _vti_script (empty) and _vti_txt (also empty).

Having copied these files, I tried to access them using http://server/directory but got a 403 error. I then tried http://server/directory/default.aspx and received the error "Server Application Unavailable". I amended one of the files (using Visual Studio 2005), which contained information about the database links, to point to the new server, but received exactly the same errors.

I've checked the application event log on the server, and the entry reads "It is not possible to run two different versions of ASP.NET in the same IIS process." The old server seems to have .NET 2.0 installed whilst the new one is running 3.5 SP1. Looking at the IIS Manager on the old server shows a directory-like structure containing the files listed above.