Hi group! I'll be up front and say I'm very new to SQL. I'm just now getting my feet under me in my new job. So I have lots of questions. I'll start simple (I hope).

I've created my own tables (2) that have multiple columns of data that looks something like this:

Property Name | Arrival Date | Room Nites | Revenue
Hotel 1 1/1/2014 1 $120
Hotel 1 1/1/2014 1 $115
Hotel 1 1/1/2014 1 $103

The above table is for January 2014 and the second one is for January 2015. It looks identical to the above except for the arrival dates.

I need to merge the data from these two properties into one table. In other words I need to have everything from both tables/columns into 1 table/column. Therefore the new table needs to look like this:

Property Name | Arrival Date | Room Nites | Revenue This Year | Revenue Prior Year
Hotel 1 1/1/2015 1 $120
Hotel 1 1/1/2014 1 $115
Hotel 1 1/1/2015 1 $103

Note - each instance of the data represents 1 reservation for 1 room for 1 room night. Thus the reason you'll see multiple listings for the same property on the same night.

So my question is, how to I do this?

In advance, thanks for your help.

Don

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hello,

If I understand correctly you have two tables. One contains data for 2014 and the other contains data from 2015. What you want is to print a report that contains data from both tables. That is not hard to do if the tables have the same field names like it sounds like yours do. If that is the case then the option you are looking for is called UNION and you basically run something like this:

SELECT * FROM table2014
UNION
SELECT * FROM table2015;