A 0.5 mile walk is not much, actually a healthy thing to do.
Does the return add another 9 miles?
What do you do on days when your dad needs his car?

its only once a week to go into the city

and yes 9 miles each way

(i usually walk about 8 miles a day anyway as i come home from college at lunch)

Some larger cities like Toronto, or many European cities, have pretty good public transportation. Just depends were you live.

Where I live, I have to use a car. I could rigg up a small solar powered air compressor (plenty of sunshine here) and use that air driven car in the future.

Nice new avatar there jbennet!

I read that they have buses in Switzerland that go from station to station using energy stored in a flywheel coupled to an electric motor/generator.

In Disney World they have a people mover system on rails, where each four passenger car is propelled by computer controlled electro magnets in the rail bed. Sorry I am not an engineer, so I can't explain this too well.

those magnets probably use huge amounts of power

I don't know about energy consumption, but they are powered only a second or so to pull the car toward them. The faster the car moves the less they are on. Need to find an engineer-poster to explain this more fully. All I can say is that the whole thing is very quiet and there is no stench.

If you drive behind a diesel car that uses recycled cooking oil, the stench smells like fries.

How about cars powered with ethanol? Coldn't that be a cause for more drunk drivers? Would you keep a jar of olives in the car?

those magnets probably use huge amounts of power

It sounds like you're trying to justify a purchase more than anything else. The reason I say this is that you instantly shoot down any method that isn't gasoline or diesel based without any substantial proof of your claims.

When you start using words like probably, it's probably time to withdraw your input in this educated discussion.