What is the easiest way to print pdf files using Visual Basic 2005? I have some experience programming in VB 6 but I'm haven’t' been using 2005 very long so I’m still quite ignorant. Thanks for any help I can get. If someone could point me in the right direction I sure would appreciate it.

What is the easiest way to print pdf files using Visual Basic 2005? I have some experience programming in VB 6 but I'm haven’t' been using 2005 very long so I’m still quite ignorant. Thanks for any help I can get. If someone could point me in the right direction I sure would appreciate it.

You know I had fought with this too. The simpliest way to print is to simply shell out to the reader and have it print it; however, the directory for acrord32.exe changes from version to version. The next most complicated way, in my opinion, is to spawn off a thread and have it do it.

EXAMPLE
Module modPrintPDF

Public Function PrintPDF(ByVal PDFFile As String, ByVal Printer As String, ByVal Timeout As Integer) As Integer

If PrinterName.Trim.Length = 0 Then
            PrinterName = (New System.Drawing.Printing.PrinterSettings).PrinterName
        End If

Dim Proc As New System.Diagnostics.Process

Proc.EnableRaisingEvents = True
        Proc.StartInfo.FileName = PDFFile
        Proc.StartInfo.Arguments = Chr(34) + PrinterName + Chr(34)
        Proc.StartInfo.Verb = "PrintTo"
        Proc.StartInfo.WindowStyle = ProcessWindowStyle.Minimized
        Proc.StartInfo.CreateNoWindow = True
        Proc.Start()

Do While Timeout > 0 AndAlso Not Proc.HasExited
            System.Threading.Thread.Sleep(1000)
            Timeout -= 1
        Loop

If Not Proc.HasExited Then
            Debug.Print("Killing process")
            Proc.Kill()
        End If

Debug.WriteLine("Closing process")
        Proc.Close()

Return 0
    End Function

Public Function PrintPDF(ByVal PDFFile As String) As Integer
        Return PrintPDF(PDFFile, "", 60)
    End Function