Hi Guys,

I'm new to SQL and just know the basics. My boss has asked me to help him with a new system they are developing using MS. Access.

In the form, the user enters their information as well as checks the applicable check boxes. When they have completed the form, they click the 'Generate Match Report' button and it matches the programs the user is eligible for based on what the user has input. I've looked at numerous union query examples, however, I haven't been able to figure out exactly how to do this.

For example:

Form:
- The client enters their age and employment status
Client Age
Employment Status
Preferred Location (if any)

The criteria is matched up with the services/programs provided.

Some guidance and/or assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jay

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I need additional details to give you precise help, such as what tables should the search be performed on and what are the relevant fields in the tables.

However, just a general comment... UNION queries are used to return results from tables that have similar data in common. Are you searching for results from multiple tables? For example, two tables may be clients and employees; they have fields in common such as First Name and Last Name. A UNION query would allow you to combine those tables so you just have a long list of both clients and employees.

Secondly, if all your data is in one table and you just need to search that single table for matching criteria, then you just need to use a WHERE clause in your SQL statement.

Sorry for the late reply. I appreciate your quick response. Without giving you the extremely long list. ill give you some samples

Whats making this harder is the fact its coming from a form not from the recorded data.

tblPrograms (has a ridiculous amount of fields)
Program 1 (Yes/No)
Program 2 (yes/No)
MinimumAge (Number)
MaximumAge(Number)
ServiceArea

tblServiceArea (just one field):
City 1
City 2
City 3
etc