Dear guys

I am rather new to Java and Java databases. Now I have just installed netbeans v6.1 together with derby (javaDB) on win XP, SP 2. Creating and running java programs is ok, but I can't start derby server from netbeans services menu. NetBeans tells me: java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/apache/derby/drda/NetworkServerControl. Exception in thread "main".

Question 1: Does this mean that derby.jar is not in classpath?

My current classpath is:
.;C:\Program\Java\jre1.6.0_02\lib\ext\QTJava.zip

Question 2: Is this a correct classpath? Should there not be a semicolon ; between two entries? I am wondering why \lib\ext\QTJava.zip is in classpath. I didn't add it.

Question 3: How should my classpath look like if derby.jar is in path: C:\Program\glassfish-v2ur2\javadb\lib ? Do I have to pay attention not to overwrite important parts of classpath already set?

I really appreciate every help. Thank you very much.

yap

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Have you tried to run any other java programs (that don't use connecton to DB) successfully?

Try to do this: Right-click on the project, Properties, Add jar, and add the derby.jar

Have you tried to go to Services tab and connect to the database of your choice?

Thank you Javaaddict (efharisto para poli :) ) for fast reply.

Yes, other Java programs (without database) run successfully.

If I connect to other database (already created with NetBeans v.5.0.1, there they work properly) I get following errors:

In Qutput java DB Process windows:
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/apache/derby/drda/NetworkServerControl
Exception in thread "main"

In final popup error window:
The class.org.apache.derby.jdbc.clientDriver was not found.
Add the relevant driver using the New Driver action on the Drivers node