Hello everyone, well its my first time ever really using java but I did do some programming in python.

Basically my first assignment is this and seems pretty easy: https://mavdisk.mnsu.edu/lct/IT214/Assignment%201.pdf

I have never done anything with class paths but it seems simple enough.

First things first, is this the correct path to get to clas path: Rightclick on mycomputer>properties>advancetab>enviromentvariables.

Currently right now this is what my classpath is showing(sidenote: I instaled java into the default installation path):

C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_04\bin

Before I had it look like this:

C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.6.0_04\lib\ext\QTJava.zip;C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.6.0_04\bin

Ok now moving on, if you looked at my assignment there is an editor(SciTE) that my professor recommends along with some java file/programs to download and compile and run.

When I go to compile the first file TextIO.java I get this:

>javac TextIO.java
>The system cannot find the file specified.

This leads me to believe I'm still having an issue with my classpath.

Thanks again for your guys help.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Well, there is the "path" and there is the "classpath". Normally I adjust the path first, then write a little "Hello World" program in some directory like the Desktop and save the file as "HelloWorld.java".

// HelloWorld.java
public class HelloWorld
{
    public static void main (String[] args) 
    {
        System.out.println("Hello World");
    }
}

Then I go to a command line in the directory where I saved this and do the following at the command line:

javac HelloWorld.java

You should get no message whatsoever. If you do, there is something wrong with your path or you made a typo. Then type:

java HelloWorld

from the command line. That should cause your program to write "Hello World" to the console. Again, no other messages.