Hi,
Im new to this C#. So I have learned VB.NET and also ASP.NET, So now im also thinking to learn C#.NET. but i donno C#. So im confused that whether i have to learn first C#. and then start C#.NET ??? can anyone please enlighten me?

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Hi,

C# and C#.NET are the same thing. You need to specify with VB because there are other VB 'versions'(e.g VB 6...) out of the .NET platform.

Regards,
Camilo

>C# and C#.NET are the same thing.
Technically that's not true. C# is an internationally standardized language that isn't bound to the .NET framework as long as the implementation conforms to the CLI specification. The .NET framework is one such implementation. Mono is another.

>can anyone please enlighten me?
C# is C#. There's no such thing as C#.NET in terms of official designations, but I suppose you could refer to C#.NET if you're using .NET-specific libraries in your C# code.

Hi

>There's no such thing as C#.NET in tems of official designations.

Maybe is no 'official' bu go to this link and tell me fi you still think that is not correct that are the same thing.

http://books.google.com/books?q=C%23.net+msdn&source=citation

Also this is the description of C# int the MSDN Visual C# Developer Center.

"Visual C# is a simple, general-purpose programming language that enables you to build rich, connected Web and client applications on the .NET Framework."

My point its the closed connection C# - .Net Framework

I also found this link to another forum with the same Question

http://www.uberasp.net/forum.aspx?mode=thread&TopicID=673

I think that if any one really want to know should go here:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/308470

Regards,
Camilo

>Maybe is no 'official' bu go to this link and tell me fi
>you still think that is not correct that are the same thing.
Visual C# .NET is a compiler for C# on the .NET framework. That doesn't in any way prove that C# and C#.NET are the same thing in the way you suggest.