Hi,

I am new to developing an application like peer to peer chat. I have no clear ideas how to start developing that and till now I didn't found any tutorial that are really helpful in understanding the basic concept behind peer to peer communication, Like how the peers communicate,h ow to establish and test the connection etc. I did found some information regarding client/server chat application, but that is still not very helpful. Can anyone suggest me some good tutorial that can give me good knowledge for peer to peer chat.

Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Client / server is the basic concept, the only difference is, in Peer to Peer one of the Peers acts as the Server and the Other acts as a client, you simply write in the ability for each end to be able to be the server, the only real difference is the server must be waiting for connections and the client initiates the connection.

Does this mean that we still need to create a server? It says its just communication between clients. Also, Do we need to start server before the client can try to establish connection? I am sorry if you feel the questions are very basic but I haven't done anything in this area before.

Thanks!

I just started working with socket just recently I read a book on it, there is a link to a PDF here in the forum somewhere that ddanbe posted. anyhow.

the Idea is all network connections of any kind work in a client/server relationship, even if its peer to peer, the Idea behind that is, the program that initiates the connection is always the client, and the program that is listening to for the connections is always the server. In the case of your peer to peer chat system, all of your clients should be listening for connections(servers) but be able to connect to a remote endpoint(like a client) that way you cover all your bases.