Hi everyone. I'm currently working on a project with c#, and had some questions about classes. I'm a python programmer, so bear with me ;) How would I make a class that has pre defined arguments? I.e. even if the user doesn't pass that arguement, the default value of it will take over. Here's an example in python (hopefully it will make some sense):

class A():
   # constructor
   def __init__(self,name,age,height='5 feet'):
      self.name = name
      self.age = age
      self.height = height
   def say(self):
      print(self.height)

>>> inst = A('Luke',61)
>>> inst.say()
>>> '5 feet'
>>>
>>>
>>> inst2 = A('Mark',45,'6 feet, 3 inches')
>>> inst2.say()
>>> '6 feet, 3 inches'

So in this case, the variable height is already declared, even if the user doesn't specifiy it. How would I go about doing this in c#? I can't really think of a solution. Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

actually line 16 in the code should be

>>> inst2 = A('Mark',45,height='6 feet, 3 inches')

I don't know that much of Python(Monty you know) but I'm going to make an effort at a translation here that fits your code as close as possible:

using System;

namespace ConsoleApplication1
{
    class Program
    {
        static void Main(string[] args)
        {
            A inst = new A("Luke",61);
            inst.say();
            A inst2 = new A("Mark", 45, "6 feet, 3 inches");
            inst2.say();

Console.ReadKey(); //keep console on screen
        }       
    }

public class A
    {
        private string name = string.Empty;
        private int age = 0;
        private string height = string.Empty; 

//constructors
        public A(string Name, int Age)
        {
            this.name = Name;
            this.age = Age;
            this.height = "5 feet";
        }

public A(string Name, int Age, string Heigth)
        {
            this.name = Name;
            this.age = Age;
            this.height = Heigth;
        }

public void say()
        {