Hi,

Ive got a similar problem, it seems a run of the mill thing to break a string into tokens yet its kept me head scratching for days, is there another option or is it a simple code tweaking problem.

Fairly new to C/C++ but ive been coding in C# for nearly 4 years and never had such a simple function issue.

Any advice guys would be great, oh and its my first post so play fair...

char *list[200];
int a;
char *allocate;
char phrase[500];

main() {

cin >> phrase;

allocate = strtok(phrase," ");
while (allocate != NULL)
{	
	for( a = 0; a < 10; a++);
	{
		list[a] = allocate;
	}
}

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

Just use the stringstream to break a string into tokens :

stringstream tokenBreaker;
string aLine = "Please break this into six tokens";
tokenBreaker << aLine; //insert string
string tokens[7]; //for now lets not use vectors and do it manually
int currentToken = 0;
while( tokenBreaker >> tokens[currentToken]  && currentToken != 7) 
       ++currentToken;

Thats brilliant thanks very much for your prompt help!

Ive hit a wall again, string to char conversion is fine.... but i am checking the value from tokens[] against a mysql row[].

Basic question then is at the moment I having to move a string array back to char for checking against the query. Cant stringstream convert accross to a char array, I only ask as ive tried so many workarounds and ultimately this is the resulting problem. If you can think of a similar function to aide me ill be willing to consider that too. ive already gone though strstr, match against in mysql, all just dont do it accurately enough.

Thanks in advance

I'm suspecting that you are unnecessarily trying to convert data back and forth (being somewhat unfamiliar with c++). So, if you'd describe in detail what you need to do, someone here might suggest a simple solution.

ok, I need to simply take an input check said input against a database, and output value. Problem is the value can have variables so,

INPUT VARIABLE