Hi I am a beginner in C++ programming.

I am required to use the power function for one of my programs and keep getting the error message.

Below is my program

1 #include <iostream>
  2 #include <cmath>
  3 using namespace std;
  5 int main(){
  7     //Declare and initalize variables
  8     int i;
  9     double result;
 10     cin >> i;
 12     result = pow (10,i);
 14     cout << result << endl;
 16     return 0;
 17 }

But i keep getting
try.cpp: In function `int main()':
try.cpp:12: error: call of overloaded `pow(int, int&)' is ambiguous
/usr/include/iso/math_iso.h:63: note: candidates are: double pow(double, double)
/usr/sfw/lib/gcc/sparc-sun-solaris2.10/3.4.3/../../../../include/c++/3.4.3/cmath:361: note: long double std::pow(long double, int)
/usr/sfw/lib/gcc/sparc-sun-solaris2.10/3.4.3/../../../../include/c++/3.4.3/cmath:357: note: float std::pow(float, int)
/usr/sfw/lib/gcc/sparc-sun-solaris2.10/3.4.3/../../../../include/c++/3.4.3/cmath:353: note: double std::pow(double, int)
/usr/sfw/lib/gcc/sparc-sun-solaris2.10/3.4.3/../../../../include/c++/3.4.3/cmath:349: note: long double std::pow(long double, long double)
/usr/sfw/lib/gcc/sparc-sun-solaris2.10/3.4.3/../../../../include/c++/3.4.3/cmath:345: note: float std::pow(float, float)
as my error message. Any body would be kind enough to explain to me why ?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

>power function for one of my programs and keep getting the error message.

Take a look at error description and the prototype for c++ pow().

You either need to change the type of value 10 to double (10.0) or cast it to double when you use it.

I know that pow returns a double. So whenever i use a double, Both my input must be double or only one of them ?

Another question. Can i type cast the returned value from pow to become an integer ?

Check out what adatapost was trying to show you, or you can even look in your error message:

/usr/include/iso/math_iso.h:63: note: candidates are: double pow(double, double)