Hi,
I am developing a program in c++ and what i want to do is to assign an integer to a character. To become more specific i want to make an alphabet and assign to each letter a number. So far so good. The problem is that i want it with user input. For instance see the code below:

int main () {
   const unsigned int a=1, b=2, c=3, d=4, e=5, f=6, g=7; //and so on..
   int input;
   cout << "Please enter a word: " <<endl;
   cin >> input;
   cout << "The output is: " << ...

<< moderator edit: added [code][/code] tags, reduced indent >>

For example if the user decides to type the word 'bad' i want the output to be displayed in numbers: in our example that would be: 2 1 4 which stands for b a d...
I know it sound easy but i am kinda new to c++ and i dont know even what to look for in the net to concerning this issue, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

--Thanx in advance--

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I'd use an array so you could use subtraction to find the letter.

#include <iostream>

int main ( void )
{
   static const char alphabet[] = "abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz";
   int input;
   while ( std::cin >> input )
   {
      std::cout << alphabet [ (input - 1) % (sizeof alphabet - 1) ] << '\n';
   }
   return 0;
}

/* my output
2 1 4
b
a
d
^C
*/

The % (sizeof alphabet - 1) is a safety measure.

Go to google.com and do an image search for 'ASCII Table'.
The images you'll find will show you the decimal representation that computers generally use (by default with C/C++, I believe) to represent letters. For example, the decimal representation of A is 55 or 56. Can't remember which right now.

So, using that table (And assuming that the user keeps to one case (upper or lower)), you can just do a little math on the characters entered, and get your output without assigning all the values by hand.

It will help you greatly if you put the following in your code:

#include <strings>

or

#include "strings.h"

if the first one doesn't work.