I'm really new to C# so this may seem like a novice question..How does C# accomplished passing a reference to a object reference? I'm really trying to understand the underlying mechanisms and how it applies to the attached code with the comments - //what happens here? Do we pass a ref->ref->ref....or is this accomplished via reference counting.

using System;

class my_int{
	int itsx;
	int itsy;

public my_int(int x, int y){
		itsx = x;
		itsy = y;
	}

public void display_it(){
		Console.WriteLine("x->{0}, y->{1}", itsx, itsy);
	}
}

namespace testit
{
	class MainClass{

static void myfunc(ref my_int m, int x){
			if ( x < 10 )
				myfunc(ref m, ++x);//what happens here? Do we pass a ref->ref->ref....or is this accomplished via reference counting.
			else
				m = new my_int(888, 999);
		}

static void Main(string [] args){
			my_int me = new my_int(123, 456);//create a reference 'me' to a my_int object

me.display_it();

myfunc(ref me, 0);//pass a reference to the reference 'me'.

me.display_it();
		}
	}
}

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Classes in C# are passed by reference by default; adding ref means you are passing a reference to the variable.
So myfunc(ref me, 0) is passing a reference (or pointer) to me.

This allows myfunc to change the value held in me (which is what you do in your else clause), not just the contents of the m_int instance pointed to by me.

Since m in myfunc has been effectively de-referenced I think that the myfunc(ref m, ++x) call is re-referencing the original me.
Therefore I think this will result in reference counting.

BTW: For this snippet all the refs could be removed if you were to add a set method to allow changing the field values of my_int.