private:
    Hello  * hello;
};

int main(int argc, char ** argv) {
    Hi hi; ;
    hi.Testing();
    return 0;
}

As i know a non-constant member function cant be called inside a constant member function but how the above code has been compiled successfully and giving the expected result .

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Constness of a member function only applies to the direct state of the object for its class, so it's completely irrelevant if the non-const hello calls a member function that changes its own state and not the state of hi. It would be different altogether if you tried to change where hello points because that's hi's direct state. It would also be different if hello itself were const, because Test() isn't const qualified. Finally, it would be different if hello were not a pointer because then the state of hello would be a subset of hi's state.

Sorry i am not getting you . I am new to c++ . so can you please explain something more on it ?

I think getting more into it would just confuse you further. Const correctness can be tricky, so it's probably best to just accept this example as an exception to the rule, handle errors as they arise, and wait for a little more experience to faciliate that "aha!" moment.

I think I can provide a bit more explanation. A pointer (e.g., hello) is just an ordinary variable (like an integer) that stores the address of an object. That value (the address) can be changed, like any other variable value, unless it is const. Here are a few cases:

Hello* p1;       // this is a non-const pointer to a non-const Hello object.
Hello* const p2; // this is a const pointer to a non-const Hello object.
const Hello* p3; // this is a non-const pointer to a const Hello object.