The -ggdb is helpful to allow you to get debugging symbols in a gdb debugging session. Basically, you can run the process under gdb and follow control flow that way. If you are going to proceed this way, you will probably want to use a pcap file loaded with the packets you want to trace to simplify the process.

The printf approach is applicable in either context but takes much more time.

I'd suggest that you use the gdb method if you have a choice between the two.

Dear L7Sqr, I did this firsr export CFLAGS=-ggdb then I run again ./configure followed by make and make install. I dont see any debugging output is following with the tcpdump output?

Are you running the program from within a gdb session? You should not expecct to see the debugging symbols, they are information for the debugger to better assist you in stepping through code.

Yes I tried and got this. Is this correct method based on my googling? So how to trace from here I am very new to it and try to google n study it sorry for my questions.

gdb tcpdump
GNU gdb (GDB) 7.5.91.20130417-cvs-ubuntu
Copyright (C) 2013 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.  Type "show copying"
and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "x86_64-linux-gnu".
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>...
Reading symbols from /usr/local/sbin/tcpdump...done.
(gdb) run
Starting program: /usr/local/sbin/tcpdump 
warning: no loadable sections found in added symbol-file system-supplied DSO at 0x7ffff7ffa000
tcpdump: verbose output suppressed, use -v or -vv for full protocol decode
listening on eth0, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 65535 bytes