Hi there, terribly confused how to get going with a career in programming.

I have basic knowledge of Java programming principles, and I understand to some degree the object orientated aspect of the language also. My question is where to go now? Or what else to learn?

Here are some of my thoughts on which direciton I might go, but there is a ton of stuff I just do not understand yet, and I feel so overwhelmed.

Option one:
Switching over to Javascript to do web development, and maybe move onto web applications using the MEAN stack.

Option two:
Focus on pure andriod development, since it uses Java whose syntax I am familiar with.

Option three:
Continue developing my Java skills, but what to do with them? Is Java used for web applications a lot? What is the next step in developing your Java skills after you have the basics down?

I see that Javascript is popping up everywhere, should I just learn javascript?

I am possibly interested in creating mobile applications, or some entreprenurial web stuff, I am also interested in Audio / Sound Design. I am just mentioning these interestes incase someone thinks of an avenue to go down with programming that I may not be aware of.

So I basically need someone to tell me, just do this, and keep at it, and you'll get there. Right now, I am just overwhlemed about what to do, and focus on. I pick one thing one moment, and then I see courses in this that and another thing, and I just get bothered by it all, and do nothing. :)

Many many thanks for the time you have taken to read this - and thanks ahead of time to those who are so generous to take your time to respone.

Mark.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies