I have an C++ games project due in about 2 weeks i have no former knowledge of C++ and feel like ive leapt in at the deep end our lecturer just kinda put it on us and told us to do it as an self research task and gave us about 10 weeks to do it in unfortunately i did not do much work for almost a month of this due to an personal problems now it is close to the deadline and I am not really anywere and do not really understand anything all he has done is given us a few demos i have tried to play around with the demo but i am not having much success and i dont know what to do i cant afford to fail my course. I feel like A. hes not really helped us and B. ive missed out on alot of time because of a matter beyond my own control and ive just been so stressed ive not been able to do it.

This is what he is expecting from me.

Pseudo 2.5D game in DirectX making use of point sprites/billboarding. A basic shooting
gallery type of game, that is set in a semi-3D environment (full-screen resolution). It can be like duck hunt, police training or carnival fair (bottles, barrels etc). It should have single and rapid fire, different weapons etc. The game will have a mouse cursor target, moving opponents, audio both in the background and for events fired, collision detection within rectangle bounding boxes and a difficulty setting based
on a timer clock counting down (easy = 90 seconds, hard = 40 seconds etc). A score will be recorded on file with a high scores table. It will need to render opponents along the Z-Axis hence the pseudo 2.5D nature (think of Afterburner).

Will it be possible for me to achieve this in the time remaining ?

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Learning C++ and fairly advanced use of DirectX in 2 weeks? Sorry, it's just not possible. Surely you could speak to your tutor about this "personal problem" and come up with something that would suit both of you?