I am very new to C++ and have written only basic algorithms. In school we use turbo c++ compiler but now i have to attend a workshop for which I need to be able to use a gnu compiler and I do not know how to change my programs for it. I tried to google it but was not very successful. There are few things i want to know in particular:

• if I can't use <conio.h>, what do i do if I want to use a function like clrscr()?
  • what is namespace?(i read about this but didn't understand it:()
  • If i want to use void main() instead of int main(), if i can't use getch(), then what do i do?
  • Is the syntax for structures in turbo c++ and a gcc based compiler the same?
  • If i am using int main(), is it not necessary to end it with return 0?
  • Out of the following list, which are the header files that i can use in a gcc based compiler:
    iostream.h
    stdio.h
    stdlib.h
    ctype.h
    time.h
    string.h
    iomanip.h
    math.h
    matrix.h
    process.h

and in which of them should i drop out the .h?which of them can i use wtih a little modification?

• should it be <math>,<ctype>,<time> or <cmath>,<cctype><ctime>?
    what is the difference?

please respond asap...it's sort of urgent

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

1. Don't clear the screen because there may be information on the screen that people want to see. But you could use something like system("cls") or write your own cls() function using os api calls.
  2. namespace is just an umbrella used to keep symbol names from colliding with each other. It just groups together names/classes/structures/objects.
  3. getch() has nothing to do with the how to declare main(). main should never be declared as void because it always returns an integer whether you tell it to or not. Even if you omit the return statement main() will return an integer anyhow.
  4. Yes -- the syntax for a structure has never changed from day one when K&R was written.