Hi guys, I'm fairly new to C++, though I have several years of experience with C#.

I've made program with XAML and C++. Part of the program's job is to download several hundred 10mb files from an FTP patch server. I've been using the .NET FtpWebRequest for this task, and it works OK. However.....

I tested downloading the files with FileZilla, which is C++, and I got almost double the speed as my .NET program did. This is no insignificant difference, either. (3 mpbs vs 1.5mbps).

I've concluded that unmanaged C++ is significantly faster than C# (well, I knew that already...) and that I should place the FTP code in a separate C++ executable.... but I'm *really* lost as to how to do this.

I do know what the program needs to do:

1. Receive 3 arguments, Host, Remote Path, and Local Path.
  2. Connect to FTP server anonymously
  3. Download said file, writing progress to STD out.
  4. Exit when the transfer completes.

I've looked at several C++ FTP libraries, but I can't seem to get a handle on anything. Can one of you help?

One last thing: I'd start the C++ exe from C#, supplying the arguments, then read the STD out to display progress on the UI.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

You are not going to get Mbps speedup by changing from C# to C++. How many times did you run this test? What was the state of your network when you ran these tests?

Getting double the transfer rate is indicative of a network problem, not a code problem.

[NOTE]: It could also be a compression setting. I'm not familiar enough with the FTP protocol to know if there is an option to run compression before transfer; you should check it out and see if either of the two applications are doing things differently.

commented: Considering all of the facts! +7