Hello I am not an experienced programmer, and I entered some code from a book I am following, to see if it would work but unfortunately I have run into some difficulty. This program prompts the user for the red, green, and blue values, and then fills a rectangle with the color that the user specified.

import java.applet.Applet;
import java.awt.Color;
import java.awt.Graphics;
import java.awt.Graphics2D;
import java.awt.Rectangle;
import javax.swing.JOptionPane;

public class ColorSelect extends Applet
{  public void init()
   {  String input;

// ask the user for red, green, blue values

input = JOptionPane.showInputDialog("red:");
      red = Float.parseFloat(input);

input = JOptionPane.showInputDialog("green:");
      green = Float.parseFloat(input);

input = JOptionPane.showInputDialog("blue:");
      blue = Float.parseFloat(input);     
   }

public void paint(Graphics g)
   {  final int SQUARE_LENGTH = 100;

Graphics2D g2 = (Graphics2D)g;

// select color into graphics context

Color fillColor = new Color(red, green, blue);
      g2.setColor(fillColor);

// construct and fill a square whose center is
      // the center of the window

Rectangle square = new Rectangle(
         (getWidth() - SQUARE_LENGTH) / 2,
         (getHeight() - SQUARE_LENGTH) / 2,
         SQUARE_LENGTH,
         SQUARE_LENGTH);

g2.fill(square);
   }

private float red;
   private float green;
   private float blue;
}

The code is exactly right as it is in the book but when I go to run as, there is no option to run as a java applet, and when I just select run, a window pops up and says "Select what to run: Ant build or Ant build..." If I select either the build fails and it say it is unable to find an Ant file to run. I haven't come across this kind of error before. Does anyone know of a solution?

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Works just fine for me. Run menu, run as..., java applet.
Eclipse 3.4.2, Java 1.6.14