I'm still new to Microsoft Access so I don't have a great understanding of its workings but have spent the past couple of months working on a project to manage the company's telphone bills. I'm essentially compiling the usage from every company phone each month into a final table by running the numbers through a sequence of queries set up by a senior staff member (I'm just a part time uni student).

However, while adding in data from the month just past, I made an error somewhere along the line and its giving me the message "Data type mismatch in criteria expression" when trying to run one of the queries. I've been struggling to work my way around this so any help would be greatly appreciated

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

SELECT [T001 Data consol per month].[phone number], Sum([T001 Data consol per month].Sep) AS SumOfSep, Sum([T001 Data consol per month].Oct) AS SumOfOct, Sum([T001 Data consol per month].Nov) AS SumOfNov, Sum([T001 Data consol per month].Dec) AS SumOfDec, Sum([T001 Data consol per month].Jan) AS SumOfJan, Sum([T001 Data consol per month].Feb) AS SumOfFeb, Sum([T001 Data consol per month].Mar) AS SumOfMar, Sum([T001 Data consol per month].Apr) AS SumOfApr INTO [T002 Data consol per month sum]
FROM [T001 Data consol per month]
GROUP BY [T001 Data consol per month].[phone number]
HAVING ((([T001 Data consol per month].[phone number])<>"1018736981"));

That is the SQL

Not much to go on here. Here are some questions that might help you troubleshoot:
What are the data types of the columns? Is there a mismatch between source/target?
What is the format of the incoming data? Is it formatted the same way as last time you performed this task? If no, what's different?
Have you looked at the incoming data directly, to see if there is a problem with the input file (such as truncated file, overlength data or alpha where it should be numeric)?
Has your senior person looked at it yet?