Hello guys, does anybody know how to create a timer in PHP that runs even when the user goes offline. I am working on a project, actually a text based game, that needs a timer that runs continuously even after the user goes offline. The game is something like mafia wars in Facebook. It has an energy regeneration timer that needs to run continuously while the players energy is not full.

For example, the player's max energy is 20. then, he uses 5 energy points to do a certain job. His energy goes down to 15. Let's say the energy timer is set to 3 minutes before it adds one energy point. The timer will be counting down from 3:00 to 0:00. If the timer reaches 0:00, the player's energy will be incremented by 1. Then, the timer will be reset to 3:00 minutes. This will go on until the players energy reaches 20 even after the user goes offline. Is this possible? I really hope it is.. please help.. thanks in advance... I'm kinda new in php so please walk me through it.. ^_^

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

There is no way to do that.
What you can do is store the player logout time, and when he logs in again, compare the times and do necessary changes.

There is no way to do that.
What you can do is store the player logout time, and when he logs in again, compare the times and do necessary changes.

Thanks for the reply. I have some questions.. hope it's okay.. Can you teach me how to do that? How do you insert,retrieve and compare date and time in mysql database? How should the database look like, i mean the char type and other settings? :S

Is it possible to have and display a live timer in PHP that will not reset if the page is reloaded?

Thats javascript, PHP is server side language, which runs only when it's requested.

And about the time comparison... I do want that you try for yourself, so make some effort, I will just outline the main concept.