Hello.
I'm creating a CMS. I've got this log_error.
Can you explain the problem for me if the error message is clear enough for you to understand it? I'm new to PHP.
the log_error says:

PHP Warning: session_start() [<a href='function.session-start'>function.session-start</a>]: Cannot send session cache limiter - headers already sent

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

Seems like you have output (html or echo/print or even whitespace) before the session_start() statement. Make sure that session_start() is the first thing in your page, then it should work.

If it still doesn't, it may be down to your document having a BOM. Ensure that all files are saved as UTF-8 without BOM.

Well, in 2 files, session_start() is not the first thing in the page, is like this:

<html>
<head>
<title>page title</title>
</head>
<body>
<?php
session_start();

And in one other file is like this:

<?php
include('includes/functions.php');
session_start();

And what is BOM?
How can i understand if all files are saved az UTF-8 without BOM or not? What should i do for that?

Member Avatar for diafol

Just change all your files to ensure that:

<?php
session_start();

is right at the top. No problem. BOM may not be an issue. If you have a more advanced text editor (or IDE) you may have options in which format you wish to save the file. Notepad++ for example allows you to store in many different formats.

I replaced the last one with this:

<?php
    session_start();

And for two other files, i moved the html part into after session_start().

But still i have problem, nothing changed. I can't login into admin area and will get the error to check details, i mean the error message for login form code. But now there is no log_error, so how should i find the problem?