Well I started getting into coding learning the basics of Python and looking into C++ but I'm not sure if it's really something I want to do, so I'm looking to get into and explore web development

I'm wondering though where I should start after learning basic HTML? I've read about lots of things like CSS, ASP, PHP, etc but I'm unsure which to learn/learn first.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Leaning html and css together would be a good practise. I personally program in php as I am a c/c++ coder and php is based on c so if you have prior experiance you may find you have a bit of an advantage. Java / AJAX i would then suggest as your next move but as things are constantly changing it is important to stay upto date with the latest trends.

I agree with Omol. But it depends a bit on what you would like to do with the knowledge. With Javascript you can do a lot of things, just for a "basic" website. But if you want to work with databases that I would suggest PHP. You can do a lot with both, so I guess it's important to learn them, but prior experience goes for PHP and Javascript. In which you have the most experience determines (I think) which language you should learn first...

A good website for learning all kind of languages and terms is: http://www.w3schools.com/

Hope this helps!

commented: Thanks for the link :) +36

I would suggest first learning CSS. It has become a web standard for styling HTML text, images, etc. Once you have a very good understanding of CSS (It's pretty important to know it!!!), I would suggest going on to JavaScript. If you are creating forms you will want to have code to validate the fields before the server is sent the request. Lots of other elements require JavaScript such as FAQ's with Show/Hide Toggle Buttons, Fading Effects, and other tasks that can be accomplished from the user's browser.