I am currently studying for an "Associates in Computer Science" with the intention of tranfering to a four year collage to get either a "Bachelors of Computer Science" or a "Bachelor of Applied Computer Science" hopefully this spring.

Before I can make a decision on which Bachelors I would like, I have to know what type of job the Computer Science field I would want however I currently don't know the exact diffrence between some of these jobs in programing. Can anyone (perhaps who is more expreince in this job field) first explain the diffrence between some of the jobs listed below and what they do (or if there are other jobs, I would like some insight of those jobs also).

1) Software devloper/ Software application developer

2) Software Engineer

3) Computer Programmer

4) Network system administrator

Lastly, would an empolyer would prefer a "Bachelors of Computer Science degree" or a "Bachelor of Applied Computer Science degree" in evey job scenario.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I'm going with these can be nearly the same and YOU matter more than the degree title. Your skills and drive matter more here. From the web you read "You can work in the field of your choice with a Bachelor of Computer Science or Bachelor of Applied Computer Science. From healthcare to social media, ocean data to online commerce".

What matters is what you want to do during your coursework. You may find a passion in the ocean or what's in big data. Both degrees are just the paper that gets you in the door. It does not dictate what you will or can do.

Thank You. What you are saying sounds true.

Two skills you will absolutely need:

1. Ability to quickly pick up new skills.
  2. Ability to communicate clearly.

Pay special attention to #2 and remember that listening is a very important part of communication.

Thank you for the added information. I will try to improve on both skills listed during my classes if possible.