Does anyone know if there is a way to embed an executable in a web page to run in that web page. This would be a client side page.
Here is what I want to do. I am a systems admin (not a web dev even though I know just enough to make tweaks) who is in a command prompt all day long. I work in Windows, Mac and Linux. I found this really cool article on how to embed a terminal in Ubuntu that I was able to complete in Linux Mint last night.
http://www.webupd8.org/2009/05/ubuntu-embed-terminal-into-you-desktop.html

Well, now I want to do something like this in Windows. The only way I know how to would be to create a html web page that has the embedded command prompt executable and use that web page as an Active Desktop. My only issue is that I do not know how, nor have I have found a means in my Google search, to embed an executable in a web page.
Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

Can't see how you'd access files outside the webroot. This is one type of web page I would certainly not wish to see. Accessing my system files? Are you kidding? Imagine what havoc you could perform with that!

I think you must have to have PHP on the webpage (or some kind of thing like that, ASP, whatever) that calls the executable.

No, I don't think I want to do this. I am looking for something simple where I don't have to run a web server, just a simple HTML page with the embedded executable.
The more research I do the more I think this may not be possible.

embedded executable,
every browser has aimed at preventing this,
its the typical property of malware
other embedded programs that run when you open the web page
virus
trojan
rootkit

probably not a good idea

you need to reference the exe as a hyperlink in the hope that the user will choose 'run'.
Strange comment though... as a sysadmin, why don't you just install the exe on everyone's c drive and reference it?
<a href="file:\\c:\path\myexe.exe">