This may seem obvious to some people but Im only new to css so still learning :) Im creating a site with a background image i made in photoshop, I have links at top center, a slideshow underneath that centered, text again underneat that centered and then my footer.

#container {
    position:absolute;
    top:0%;
    left:0%;
    width:100%;
    margin: 0 auto; 

}

#links {
    top:40px;
    width:40%;
    left:30%;
    height:10px;
}

#main {
    align:center;
    width:80%;
    color:#CCC;
    top:100px;
    height:800px;
    left:120px;
}

#footer {
    width:80%;
    bottom:50px;
}

#p {
    text-align:justify;
    font-family:Verdana, Geneva, sans-serif;
    font-size:14px;
}

#h3 {
    font-family:Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    font-size:24px;
}

body 
{
    background-image:url('logonew.jpg');
    background-repeat:no-repeat;
    background-position:center center;
    background-attachment:scroll;
} 

IMG.displayed {
    display: block;
    margin-left: auto;
    margin-right: auto 

}

However, my background image does not center or nothing - it is not positioning as i want it to be - centered. Have I gone wrong in the code somewhere???? thanks. Louise.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I've never had problems trying to center images because I always had pictures bigger than necessary, one thing you might try is adding a semicolon to the last line of your css

IMG.displayed {
display: block;
margin-left: auto;
margin-right: auto

}

I'm not sure if that will help but you never know. Also for vertical positioning you can't say center, you have to say middle.

You never need a semi-colon after the last declaration, before the closing } - it's a weird rule, but it's true. However it's good practice to add a semi-colon, in case at a later stage you add another bit, as then the lack of a semi-colon will cause things to go wrong.

background-position:center center;