Please help
This is my first time here, so if I've done something wrong don't shot me. I have a virus in my computer and it has something to do with rundll32.exe. I tried to follow what someone else posted but I got lost and don't want to do anything on my own. So if there is someone who could help and give step by step instructions I would really appreciate it.
Thankyou
nicwat.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

I don't think anyone here can help you. Just throw your computer away and buy a new one. :P j/k

Well, no one here can do much help if you don't post it more specificly.

1. Do you have an antivirus software installed? (IF yes, which one? eg: norton, mcafee, pc-cillin) / (IF no, skip to step 5)
2. Is your antivirus definitions up to date?
3. What is the name of the virus detected/found on your computer?
4. How did you know that your rundll32.exe file is infected?
5. Scan your pc online at http://housecall.trendmicro.com (Online antivirus scan, provides no real time protection)

If you manage to get rid of the virus either using Step 5 or your own way, please post it here and share your knowledge with others. :D

P/S: Remember, DO NOT quarantine your rundll32.exe. I did it once before, and my pc could not start up after i restarted it because rundll32.exe controls the booting of your pc. Stupid me. -.-"

Good luck.

Hello,

First, don't call yourself an idiot. There are a lot of smart people who infect themselves with viruses. As long as you are running Windoze, you are a high-risk viral canidate.

Moving the thread to the Virus forum

Christian

Moving the thread to the Virus forum

Thanks Christian.

Hi nicwat- wlecome to DaniWeb. :)

Please give us the information MichaelV asked for; the more specifics we have to work with, the faster we'll be able to help you get your system clean.