Ok, I am fairly new to database design so bear with me.

I am working on a database on Transportation. My main concern is with the relationships, more specifically with Employees. I have a main table Employees and it contains basic information about the employee. I also have a field stores SSN and another that stores an EmployeeID. Now my question is with some tables linked to it.

The tables are as follows:
Users - for certain employees to log in into the system with a username and password
Drivers - not all employees are drivers but is linked with EmployeeID to Employees
Shifts - the working schedule for drivers ONLY (linked to Drivers)

There other tables which I have not linked because I thought there were too many linked to the EmployeeID

Complaints - for complaints that are called in against a driver
Accidents - for accident records
WriteUps - write ups against an employee
Incidents - incidents that occur in the vehicle
Vehicles - the vehicle that the driver uses

If I link the relationships, there will be about 10 tables with EmployeeID as a foreign key. Would that be alright to have that many tables linked?

This database is large as there are other aspects of this database. Billing(Bookkeeping), Payroll, Trips, Vehicles/Vehicle Maintainance/Vehicle Equipment.

As I go along with the design I will probably have more questions, but this will be it for now.

Thanks,
JC

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I would recommend combining a lot of those tables together, but it depends on how far you are going within those tables (how many columns).

You can link complaints to writeups into one table, as well as accidents and incidents. You should really think about doing this, as it will save a lot of database room (if that is a situation you need to avoid). And also it is quicker to retrieve and update information, using one query instead of two (if not using T-SQL).